Where to Find Gluten-Free Oreos? -Healthy Tips 2023

Save for later!

where to find gluten free oreos

Everyone’s favorite sandwich cookies – Oreos are now also made gluten-free. Nabisco started making two types of gluten-free Oreo cookies – the Gluten-Free Original Oreo and Double Stuf Gluten-Free Oreo. If you haven’t had the opportunity to try this gluten-free Oreos, now is the perfect time to do so.

But where to find gluten-free Oreos? Gluten-free Oreo cookies can be found nationwide in all the stores that sell regular Oreo cookies. The Gluten-Free Oreo Double Stuff and the Gluten-Free Original Oreo cookies are widely available at Kroger, Target, Walmart, Safeway, and Albertsons and online on Amazon and Oreo’s official website. 

Keep reading to learn more about Oreo gluten-free cookies and whether they are healthier than original gluten-containing Oreo chocolate sandwich cookies. 

Is there a Gluten-Free Oreo?

The Original Oreo isn’t gluten-free. Original Oreo sandwich cookies are made with unbleached enriched flour, which contains wheat flour, sugar, palm or canola oil, cocoa, high fructose corn syrup, leavening, cornstarch, salt, soy lectin, vanillin, and chocolate. 

But Nabisco, the company that produces Oreo chocolate sandwich cookies, now makes a gluten-free variety of the Classic Oreo cookie. In fact, the company started creating two different kinds of gluten-free Oreo cookies – the Gluten-Free Original Oreo Cookie and the Gluten-Free Double Stuff Oreo Cookie. 

The company also announced that it will release another gluten-free Oreo cookie. The mint-flavored Double Stuf Gluten-Free Oreo cookie will soon become a permanent member of the Oreo gluten-free line-up. 

What Kind of Oreo can a Gluten-Free Person Eat?

People following a gluten-free diet can eat gluten-free Oreo chocolate sandwich cookies. Oreo gluten-free cookies come in white packaging and are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO). 

Gluten-Free Certification Organization is the largest third-party gluten-free certifying agency in the United States. While the FDA requires products to contain less than 20 ppm of gluten to be labeled as gluten-free, the GFCO only certifies products tested to have less than 10 ppm of gluten. 

Gluten-free Oreo cookies are made using gluten-free ingredients, including:

  • Sugar
  • White rice flour
  • Tapioca starch
  • Palm oil
  • Canola oil
  • White oat flour
  • Cornstarch
  • Cocoa (processed with alkali)
  • Invert sugar
  • Soy lecithin
  • Baking soda
  • Xanthan gum
  • Chocolate
  • Artificial flavor

Nabisco, the company that makes Oreo cookies, says that all ingredients used to make gluten-free Oreos are truly gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten intolerance. 

Although these Oreos contain oat flour, which is often cross-contaminated during harvest or processing, oats are generally considered safe when labeled gluten-free. However, a small percentage of people with celiac disease can’t eat oats and experience gluten cross-reactivity

If you fall into this subgroup, avoid eating all Oreo cookies.

Is Gluten-Free Oreo Healthy?

is gluten free oreo healthy

Many people believe that gluten-free foods are healthier, but that’s not always the case. If you have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity, gluten-free Oreo cookies are a healthier choice. However, a Classic Oreo cookie might be a better choice for everyone else.

Gluten may actually be healthy and beneficial to people without intolerance and act as a prebiotic, supporting good gut bacteria. In addition, gluten-free products may deprive you of essential nutrients because they often contain less protein, fiber, and vitamins than gluten-containing foods. 

Many gluten-free products also have more sugar and fat to achieve a better flavor and texture, making them a less healthy option.

When it comes to nutrition, gluten-free Original Oreo cookies have the same nutritional value as the Classic Oreo sandwich cookies. A serving of Oreo Gluten-Free Chocolate Sandwich Cookies – three cookies – contains:

  • 160 calories
  • 7 grams of fat
  • 25 grams of carbs
  • 14 grams of sugar
  • 1 gram of protein 

A serving of the Oreo Double Stuf Gluten-Free Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, with two cookies per serving, contains:

  • 140 calories
  • 7 grams of fat
  • 21 grams of carbs
  • 13 grams of sugar
  • Less than 1 gram of protein

In reality, gluten-free Oreo cookies aren’t better or healthier than the original just because they are gluten-free. If you don’t have celiac disease or other gluten-related disorders, you might as well continue eating original Oreo cookies.

Where can You Buy Gluten-Free Oreos?

Gluten-free Oreo cookies are available in stores across the country. All stores that carry Oreo Original Chocolate Sandwich cookies now sell the gluten-free version too. 

Kroger, Walmart, Safeway, Target, and Albertsons are just a few of the many stores where you can find gluten-free and regular Oreos. In addition to big chains and local grocery stores, you can buy Oreo cookies online.

If you aren’t in the mood to go to the grocery store, visit Oreo’s official website and order your favorite cookie straight from the source. Amazon also sells original and gluten-free Oreo cookies and will ship them straight to your home. 

Can You Buy Gluten-Free Oreos at Walmart?

Yes, you can buy gluten-free Oreo cookies at Walmart. Walmart carries both the Oreo Gluten-Free Chocolate Sandwich Cookies and Oreo Double Stuf Gluten-Free Chocolate Sandwich Cookies.

In addition to gluten-free versions, Walmart also sells all other kinds of Oreo cookies, including regular and family-size Oreo Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, standard and family-size Oreo Double Stuf Chocolate Sandwich Cookies, Oreo Frozen Dairy Dessert Ice Cream Sandwiches, Oreo Cakesters Soft Snack Cakes, and variety of other delicious Oreo cookies.

Conclusion

Oreo is a universally loved cookie that is now available to the gluten-free community. People with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity can indulge in two kinds of Oreo cookies – the Oreo Double Stuff Gluten-Free Chocolate Sandwich Cookie and the Oreo Gluten-Free Chocolate Sandwich Cookie. 

Certified gluten-free by the GFCO, these cookies contain less than 10 ppm of gluten and are safe for people following a gluten-free diet. Although gluten-free, these cookies are made with oat flour, and eating them can cause issues for people with cross-reactivity. If this is you, you’ll be better off avoiding all Oreo cookies. 

Related Articles:

Save for later!

Leave a Comment