Are Slurpees Gluten-Free? – Healthy Tips 2022

Save for later!

are slurpees gluten free

Most people would agree that the Slurpee is the most popular non-alcoholic frozen drink. Since its introduction to the market in 1966, this fizzy and fluffy frozen drink has been cooling millions of people during hot summer days. 

But are Slurpees gluten-free? Yes, Slurpees are gluten-free. Slurpee beverages include sugar, ice, and artificial flavors, among other ingredients. Although Slurpees are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease, they contain a lot of sugar. Drink Slurpees as an occasional treat to keep your weight and health in check. 

Keep reading to learn more about the ingredients used to make Slurpees and the drink’s nutritional value. We’ll also share some interesting facts about the Slurpee frozen beverages. 

Are all Slurpee Flavors Gluten-Free?

are all slurpees gluten free

All Slurpee flavors are gluten-free. This is excellent news for everyone diagnosed with celiac disease and other gluten-related disorders. 

Currently, there are 12 different Slurpee flavors, including limited-time-only specialty flavors. People following a gluten-free diet can eat Slurpees without worrying about gluten exposure. 

The most popular Slurpee flavors are:

Coca-Cola Slurpee

Coca-Cola Slurpee is a flavor that needs no introduction. This product combines the tasty Coca-Cola flavor and the fizzy Slurpee. 

The Coca-Cola Slurpee is made of carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, water, caramel color, phosphoric acid, natural flavors, caffeine, quillaia extract, and yucca extract. This product doesn’t contain detectable allergens or gluten.

One serving of Coca-Cola Slurpee (20 oz) contains 160 calories, 15 mg sodium, 44 grams of sugar, and 37 mg caffeine. Although gluten-free, the Coca-Cola Slurpee isn’t healthy food. It should be consumed only occasionally as a treat because of its high sugar content. 

Cherry Slurpee

The Cherry Slurpee is one of the best-selling Slurpee flavors. The small 12 oz cup contains only about 100 calories. This Slurpee flavor is also gluten-free and safe to be consumed by people with gluten-related disorders.

When it comes to ingredients, the Cherry Slurpee is made with high fructose syrup, water, citric acid, quillaia extract, yucca extract, sodium benzoate (to protect taste), unidentified and natural artificial flavors, and red 40. 

A small 12 oz cup of Cherry Slurpee contains 26 grams of total carbs, 26 grams of sugar, and 10 mg of sodium. 

Pineapple Whip Slurpee

The Pineapple Whip Slurpee combines the flavor of whipped cream and pineapple in one sweet and refreshing beverage. This flavorful Slurpee doesn’t contain gluten and is safe for people with gluten sensitivities.

This gluten-free Slurpee is made from carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, filtered water, pineapple juice concentrate, sugar, citric acid, natural and artificial flavors, propylene glycol, yucca extract, xanthan gum, quillaia extract, titanium dioxide, sodium benzoate, potassium sorbate, FD&C yellow #5, and sucralose. 

A medium cup (20 oz) of Pineapple Whip Slurpee contains 150 calories. The Pineapple Whip Slurpee’s nutrition label states that this frozen drink contains 10 mg of sodium, 39 grams of total carbs, and 37 grams of sugar.

Pina Colada Slurpee

The refreshing Pina Colada Slurpee is among the most popular Slurpee flavors. Like all other Slurpees, this frozen drink is also gluten-free and suitable for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.

The Pina Colada Slurpee is made of carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, citric acid, artificial flavor, quillaia extract, sodium benzoate (to protect taste), and yucca extract. 

One medium cup of Pina Colada Slurpee contains 160 calories, 75 mg of sodium, 44 grams of total carbs, and 44 grams of sugar. This product’s nutritional label states that there’s no gluten or other detectable allergens inside this frozen drink. 

What Are the Ingredients in a 7-11 Slurpee?

Gluten is found in many different foods and drinks, so it’s important for people suffering from gluten-related disorders to read product labels. Reading the label is the easiest way for these individuals to learn whether or not a product they intend to consume contains gluten or not. 

Most flavors of 7-Eleven Slurpees are made using mostly the same ingredients. Of course, some flavors have more ingredients than others and vice versa. 

Let’s take Blue Raspberry Slurpee as an example. This frozen drink is made from: 

  • Carbonated water: contains dissolved carbon dioxide gas which causes small bubbles to form inside the water.
  • High fructose corn syrup: this is a sweetener made from corn starch and is also known as glucose-fructose syrup. 
  • Filtered water: purified water that has been filtered through reverse osmosis, distillation, or UV light to remove physical impurities.  
  • Citric acid: is an organic compound that occurs naturally in citrus fruits. 
  • Malic acid: is an organic compound that is used as a food additive.
  • Yucca extract: is a consumable product derived from a yucca plant. 
  • Natural and artificial flavors: natural flavors are chemical compounds extracted directly from plants or animals. Artificial flavors aren’t extracted from nature but are produced in a lab. 
  • Ascorbic acid: is vitamin C, a water-soluble vitamin found in fruits and vegetables.
  • Quillaia extract: is an extract from the inner bark of quillaia soapbark trees.
  • Sodium benzoate: is the sodium salt of benzoic acid and is commonly used as a food preservative and a pickling agent.
  • FD&C blue #1: also known as Brilliant Blue FCF (for coloring food), FD&C blue #1 is a water-soluble artificial blue dye allowed by the FDA for use in food, drugs, and cosmetics.  

Conclusion

All 7-Eleven Slurpee flavors are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac and other gluten-related disorders to consume. While these fizzy frozen drinks are free of gluten, they are loaded with sugar. 

The high-sugar content of Slurpees makes these drinks suitable only as occasional treats. But the good news is that even if you suffer from gluten intolerance, you can safely guzzle a Slurpee on a hot summer day or at any other time of the year if you feel like it. 

Related Articles:

Save for later!

Leave a Comment