Are Penzeys Spices Gluten-Free? – Garden Tips 2022

Save for later!

are penzeys spices gluten free

Penzeys is a popular spice brand that offers an array of flavorful seasonings. If you’re a fan of Penzeys spices but have recently been diagnosed with celiac disease or gluten intolerance, you’re probably wondering if Penzeys spices are safe to eat. 

So, are Penzeys spices gluten-free? Yes, Penzey’s spices are gluten-free. All Penzeys products, including spices, herbs, salts, and all ingredients used in seasoning blends, are naturally gluten-free. However, Penzeys spices aren’t certified gluten-free. Their products are natural, and all ingredients are listed on the product label. 

Read on to discover different gluten-free Penzeys spices. We’ll also list other gluten-free seasoning brands and tell you how to know if spices are gluten-free. 

What Seasonings and Spices Contain Gluten?

Individual herbs and spices are usually free of gluten. 

However, blends of spices and herbs are sometimes mixed with gluten-containing ingredients such as wheat flour, wheat protein, wheat crumbs, or wheat starch. If this is the case, these ingredients will be declared on the seasoning blend’s product label.

Although most spices are gluten-free, they can become cross-contaminated during the manufacturing and packaging process. Cross-contamination from seasoning mixes that sometimes contain gluten is a big concern for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance. 

Most big spice companies say that their pure spices are gluten-free, and some brands are even certified gluten-free. 

According to FDA, any foods, including seasonings and spices, that carry the label “gluten-free”, “free of gluten”, or “no gluten” must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten. Other regulatory bodies also use these criteria because most people with celiac disease can tolerate foods with minimal amounts of gluten.

How Do You Know if Spices Are Gluten-Free?

Raw spices, herbs, and seasonings that are made from plants are always gluten-free. 

When buying a spice or a seasoning mix at a grocery store, always read the label to see if the product is gluten-free. Check the label to ensure no wheat, barley, or rye has been added to the spice blend. 

Spices sold separately or when there’s only a single ingredient on the ingredient list are typically gluten-free and safe. Gluten-free single spices include, but aren’t limited to:

  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Garlic powder
  • Garlic salt
  • Ginger
  • Bay leaves
  • Turmeric
  • Onion powder
  • Nutmeg
  • Paprika
  • Cinnamon
  • Coriander
  • Basil
  • Oregano
  • Rosemary
  • Marjoram
  • Thyme

Seasoning mixes contain several spices, herbs, and in some cases, an anti-caking agent. In rare cases, a gluten-containing ingredient, like wheat starch, can be used as an anti-caking agent. 

That’s why it’s always best to read the product label to ensure no gluten-containing ingredients are mixed with spices. Some of the most popular seasoning mixes are:

  • Curry powder: is made by mixing cumin, turmeric, ginger, and black pepper. Some curry powders also contain cinnamon and garlic.
  • Italian seasoning: is made using oregano, basil, thyme, marjoram, and rosemary.
  • Tajin: is made by mixing chili peppers, sea salt, and lime
  • Taco seasoning: is made with paprika, salt, oregano, chili, onion powder, and garlic powder. 

Many popular spices and seasoning mixes like Old Bay, Mrs. Dash, and Lawry’s don’t contain gluten but aren’t labeled gluten-free. If you’re buying spices and seasoning mixes, always read the ingredient lists to determine that there’s no gluten inside the product.

Different Gluten-Free Penzeys Spices

different gluten free penzeys spices

If you’re looking for an alternative to store brands, Penzeys offers an array of gluten-free spices and seasonings. Penzeys products are entirely natural and don’t contain additives or preservatives. 

Take a look at all gluten-free Penzeys spices:

  • Ajwain seed
  • Aleppo pepper
  • Anise seed (ground, whole, and cracked)
  • Annatto seed
  • California Sweet Basil
  • French Basil
  • Whole Bay Leaf
  • Green Bell Pepper Flakes
  • Red Bell Pepper Flakes
  • Red & Green Bell Pepper Flakes
  • Caraway seed
  • Cardamom (ground and seeds)
  • Cayenne Red Pepper Powder
  • Celery seed (whole and ground)
  • Chipotle Pepper Ground Red
  • Crushed California Red Peppers
  • Crushed Indian Red Peppers
  • Chili Piquin
  • Chives
  • Cilantro
  • Cinnamon
  • Cloves
  • Cocoa powder
  • Coriander
  • Cumin seed
  • Dill seed
  • Epazote
  • Fennel seed
  • Fenugreek ground
  • Galangal ground
  • Garlic powder
  • Ginger powder
  • Horseradish powder
  • Jalapeno Peppers crushed
  • Lavender
  • Lemon Grass
  • Lemon Peel powder
  • Mace powder
  • Marjoram
  • Peppermint
  • Spearmint
  • Mustard seeds
  • Nutmeg
  • Oregano
  • Sweet Paprika
  • Smoked Paprika
  • Parsley
  • Black Pepper
  • White Pepper
  • Peppercorns
  • Green Peppercorns
  • Poppy seed (white and blue)
  • Rosemary
  • Saffron
  • Sage
  • French Tarragon
  • Thyme
  • Turmeric

What Other Seasoning Brands Are Gluten-Free?

Besides Penzeys, several other well-known spice manufacturers produce and sell gluten-free spices and seasoning blends. Here are some of the most popular gluten-free spice brands:

Badia Spices

Established in 1967, Badia Spices manufactures, packages, and distributes spices, seasoning blends, and other products. This company offers organic and gluten-free spices and seasonings. 

McCormick Spices 

McCormick is a popular spice brand that has been adding flavors to dishes since 1889. This company produces gluten-free spices and says that products containing gluten will always be labeled appropriately, listing a common name of a gluten source. 

When you’re buying McCormick spices, read the label to ensure that no gluten-containing ingredients are present.

Morton & Bassett Spices

Founded in 1968, Morton & Bassett Spices is one of the most popular spice brands. Morton & Bassett spices are certified gluten-free and non-GMO verified. 

Pioneer Spices

Pioneer has been a leading manufacturer of spices, gravy, and baking mixes since 1851. This company produces an array of mixes, including gluten-free spices.

Simple Organic Spices

True to its name, Simple Organic brand produces all-organic spices. Simple Organic brand offers certified gluten-free spices, but not all of their products are gluten-free. If you decide to purchase Simple Organic spices, check the label to ensure there are no gluten-containing ingredients. 

Conclusion

Penzeys produces an array of flavorful spices and seasoning blends. Although not certified, Penzeys spices are gluten-free and made from naturally gluten-free ingredients.

This company doesn’t add gluten or any gluten-containing ingredients to any of its products and won’t package any items if they are found to contain gluten. Penzeys lists all ingredients on the product label, so read the label’s description to ensure no gluten-containing ingredients are inside the spice blend. 

Related Articles:

Save for later!

Leave a Comment