Are Ice Breakers Gluten-Free? – Health Tips 2022

Save for later!

are ice breakers gluten free

Ice Breakers is a popular brand of mints and chewing gum. Whether you need a mint to freshen your breath or want to chew some gum, Ice Breakers mints and gums come in many delicious flavors.

But are Ice Breakers gluten-free? Ice Breakers mints and Ice Breakers chewing gum are, in most cases, gluten-free. A few Ice Breaker chewing gum flavors may have trace amounts of gluten. Check the ingredient list on the back of all Ice Breakers mints and Ice Breakers chewing gum to ensure they don’t contain any residual gluten. 

Keep reading to learn more about the ingredients in Ice Breakers mints and Ice Breakers chewing gums and their nutritional value. 

Why Are Ice Breakers Usually Gluten-Free?

Ice Breakers mints are usually gluten-free because most types of mints aren’t made with gluten or gluten-based ingredients. 

The majority of mints contain peppermint oil, confectioner’s glaze, or some other blend that gives mints sheen or glaze and any other flavorings that the manufacturer decides to use. 

As a result, most brands of mints are safe to eat, even if you are extremely sensitive to gluten or suffer from celiac disease. Peppermint flavored mints like Ice Breakers Wintergreen, and Ice Breakers Frost Peppermint sugar-free mints are gluten-free and safe for people with gluten intolerance.

When it comes to mints, the only time you need to check for gluten is when mints contain special flavors or fillings inside. The good news is that most Ice Breakers mints have a flavorful glaze and are almost always gluten-free. 

Most Ice Breakers mints are gluten-free, but things are a little bit different when it comes to chewing gums. 

Gums vs. Mints

Unlike mints, a lot of chewing gum brands contain gluten. Many chewing gum manufacturers use gum flavors sweetened with glucose syrup and sourced from wheat. 

Although there is barely any wheat or gluten left after all the ingredients have been processed in the factory, some people with celiac disease could still get sick from chewing gum. 

A big problem with chewing gum is that gum manufacturers don’t have to disclose any allergens besides wheat, so it’s hard to tell if a given chewing gum contains gluten or not. 

Most Ice Breakers chewing gum products are gluten-free. Ice Breaker chewing gum flavors that contain wheat are clearly labeled and state which ingredients contain gluten.

Several Ice Breaker chewing gum flavors list wheat as one of the main ingredients. For example, Ice Breakers Ice Cubes Dragonfruit flavor contains wheat as an ingredient. 

The good news is that this company provides a list of ingredients on all chewing gum packages. This gives you a chance to determine whether you can safely enjoy Ice Breakers chewing gum or not. 

Product Warning

Ice Breakers chewing gum and Ice Breakers mints are owned and produced by the Hershey company. This company provides allergen warnings on all of its products and lists gluten ingredients. 

If you’re unsure whether a given chewing gum or mint product from Ice Breakers contains gluten, simply check the label. 

Not every company discloses this information, so it’s nice to know that Hershey is thinking about people with celiac disease and gluten intolerance. 

Are Ice Breakers Mints Vegan?

are ice breaker mints vegan

There are no animal-derived ingredients in Ice Breakers Mints, but the company doesn’t make a vegan claim.

Veganism isn’t just a diet, it’s a lifestyle that promotes healthier living and a stand against any type of animal and environmental abuse. The consumption of products that don’t use animal-derived ingredients but test on animals and use environment-negative materials is individual. 

Here are all Ice Breakers Mints that you should avoid if you decide to go fully vegan and quit using all products that support animal and environmental abuse:

  • Ice Breakers Cherry Lemonade Sugar-Free Mints
  • Ice Breakers Golden Apple Sugar-Free Mints 
  • Ice Breakers Snow Cone Sugar-Free Mints
  • Ice Breakers Sours Mixed Berry Sugar-Free Mints
  • Ice Breakers Sour Fruits Sugar-Free Mints
  • Ice Breakers Duo Grape Sugar-Free Mints 
  • Ice Breakers Duo Raspberry Sugar-Free Mints 
  • Ice Breakers Duo Strawberry Sugar-Free Mints
  • Ice Breakers Duo Watermelon Sugar-Free Mints 

Although not all Ice Breakers Mints are suitable for a vegan diet, some are. Listed below are several types of vegan Ice Breakers Mints.

  • Ice Breakers Candy Cane Sugar-Free Mints
  • Ice Breakers Cinnamon Sugar-Free Mints
  • Ice Breakers Coolmint Sugar-Free Mints
  • Ice Breakers Spearmint Sugar-Free Mints
  • Ice Breakers Wintergreen Sugar-Free Mints 

Ice Breakers Nutrition Facts

Most Ice Breakers products have a similar nutritional profile because they are made using the same ingredients. Check out the nutrition facts of some of the most popular Ice Breakers mints and chewing gums.

Ice Breakers Wintergreen Mints

Ice Breakers Wintergreen Mints are sugar-free and are one of the brand’s most popular mint flavors.

Ingredients:

  • Sorbitol
  • Maltitol
  • Maltodextrin
  • Artificial flavor
  • Aspartame
  • Magnesium Stearate
  • Gum Acacia
  • Lecithin
  • Artificial color 

Nutrition Facts:

  • Five calories per serving
  • 1 g sugar alcohol

Ice Breakers Peppermint Ice Cubes 

The Ice Breakers Peppermint Ice Cubes are one of the brand’s most popular types of chewing gum. 

Ingredients: 

  • Xylitol
  • Gum base
  • Mannitol
  • Maltitol syrup
  • Natural and artificial flavors
  • Lecithin
  • Maltodextrin
  • Artificial colors
  • Aspartame
  • Gum acacia
  • Gelatin
  • Acesulfame potassium
  • Sorbitol
  • Isomalt
  • Neotame
  • BHT
  • Sucralose

Nutrition facts:

  • Five calories per serving
  • 2 g of carbohydrates
  • 2 g sugar alcohol

Conclusion

According to Hershey’s company, all Ice Breakers products are gluten-free. The company also states that all Ice Breakers mints and chewing gum are sugar-free. 

However, several flavors of Ice Breakers chewing gum may contain trace amounts of gluten and could cause issues for some people with celiac disease and gluten intolerance.

To be safe, check the ingredient list on the back of the Ice Breakers mints or chewing gum packages to see if the product contains gluten or other potentially problematic ingredients.

Related Articles:

Save for later!

Leave a Comment