Are Chili’s Chips Gluten-Free? – Healthy Tips 2022

Save for later!

are chili chips gluten free

Chili’s is a popular dining restaurant that offers a variety of tasty dishes. From burgers to fresh Mex bowls to steaks, there is something for everyone at Chili. But do they offer a gluten-free menu, and are Chili’s chips gluten-free?

Chili’s tortilla chips don’t contain gluten, but they aren’t gluten-free. The tortilla chips are on Chili’s gluten-friendly menu, but they are cooked in shared fryers with other gluten-containing ingredients. This cooking method exposes Chili chips to cross-contamination.

Keep reading to learn more about Chili’s chips. We’ll also list foods from Chili’s gluten-free menu, which are suitable for people following a gluten-free diet. 

What are Chili’s Chips?

Chili’s chips and salsa are one of the most popular food items on Chili’s menu. The chips are made from corn tortillas and are fried until they are crispy and golden.

Chili’s chips are served with salsa on the side. The salsa is made by blending tomatoes, onions, and chili peppers. 

The extra-thin authentic corn tostada chips are made daily, so you can rest assured that you’ll get a fresh and crispy batch whenever you dine at Chili. 

Does Chili’s Have Any Gluten-Free Products?

Chili’s makes no claims about offering any gluten-free food options, but they have a gluten-friendly menu. For a food product to be classified as gluten-free, it must have below 20 ppm of gluten as per FDA standards. 

Chili’s also confirms that they have multiple gluten sources in their kitchens and that there’s a risk that gluten cross-contact may happen during the preparation and cooking of dishes. 

Some foods on Chili’s gluten-friendly menu are prepared in the same fryer as gluten-containing foods. However, all of these dishes are clearly labeled on the menu.

Before placing your order at Chili’s, inform the manager about any food allergies or sensitivities you may have so the chef can do everything in their power to accommodate your dietary needs safely.

Are Chili’s Chips Gluten-Free?

Chili’s tortilla chips aren’t gluten-free. Although Chili’s chips aren’t made from gluten-containing ingredients, they are cooked in the same fryer as other gluten-containing ingredients. 

The tortilla chips are listed on Chili’s gluten-friendly menu but are properly labeled as having a high risk of being exposed to gluten cross-contact. 

Avoid ordering tortilla chips at Chili’s if you have mild or severe sensitivity to gluten. And you should definitely steer clear of the chips if you have celiac disease

List of Gluten-Free Chili’s Products

list of gluten free chip products

Chili’s isn’t a certified gluten-free restaurant but offers plenty of gluten-friendly options. When placing an order at Chili’s, disclose any allergies or food intolerances to your server. This way, it’s much easier for the chef and the staff to prepare your order safely.

Check out gluten-friendly options available at Chili:

Starters

  • Bone-In Wings** Buffalo, Honey Chipotle, or House BBQ
  • Tostada Chips** and Guacamole 

Ribs

  • Dry Rub
  • Honey-Chipotle
  • House BBQ

Burgers (Without Bun)

  • Alexa’s Santa Fe Burger
  • Just Bacon Burger
  • Mushroom Swiss
  • Oldtimer Burger
  • Queso Burger with Tortilla Strips**
  • Bacon Rancher
  • BBQ Brisket
  • Big Bacon BBQ
  • Secret Sauce Burger

Fajitas

  • Fajitas with Corn Tortillas** – grilled chicken, steak, or shrimp 

Fresh Mex Bowls

  • Fresh Mex Bowl with Tortilla Strips** – chipotle chicken or shrimp

Grill

  • 6 oz or 10 oz Sirloin with Grilled Avocado
  • Ancho Salmon
  • Margarita Grilled Chicken
  • Cilantro-Lime Carne Asada

Steaks

  • Classic Ribeye
  • Classic 6 oz or 10 oz Sirloin
  • Cilantro-Lime Carne Asada

Kids Menu

  • Grilled Chicken Dippers
  • Corn on the Cob
  • Corn Kernels
  • Mandarin Oranges
  • Mashed Potatoes with Gravy
  • Salad with Ranch
  • Steamed Broccoli

Salads

  • House Salad without Croutons – add grilled chicken, add ancho salmon, add shrimp
  • Santa Fe Grilled Chicken Salad
  • Southwest Caesar with Tortilla Strips**
  • Cesar Salad without Croutons 

Soups & Chili

  • Loaded Baked Potato Soup 
  • Southwest Chicken Soup with Tortilla Strips**
  • The Original Chili with Tortilla Strips**

Salad Dressings

  • Ancho Chili Ranch
  • Avocado Ranch
  • Bleu Cheese
  • Caesar Dressing
  • Citrus Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Honey Lime Vinaigrette
  • Honey Mustard
  • Ranch
  • Santa Fe
  • Thousand Islands

Combos (Without Sides)

  • Baby Back Ribs
  • Jalapeno-Cheder Smoked Sausage

Sides

  • Grilled Asparagus
  • Black Beans
  • Coleslaw
  • French Fries**
  • Loaded Mashed Potatoes
  • Mexican Rice
  • Roasted Street Corn
  • Shrimp
  • Steamed Broccoli
  • Sweet Corn on the Cob

Ingredients marked with ** on the side are cooked on a surface with other gluten-containing food or in a shared fryer and likely contain gluten. Avoid ordering any of the marked dishes if you’re diagnosed with celiac disease or other gluten-related disorders. 

Are Chili’s Chips Made of Corn?

Yes, Chili chips are made of corn, which naturally doesn’t contain gluten. The Chili’s corn chips are gluten-free but become cross-contaminated with gluten bits while being cooked in a shared fryer. 

Does Chili’s Have Gluten-Free Buns?

Chili’s currently doesn’t offer gluten-free buns. The restaurant’s gluten-friendly menu lists burgers without a bun as a safe meal option for people diagnosed with celiac disease or other gluten-related disorders.

If you’re in the mood for some burgers, you can bring your own gluten-free bun. This way, you won’t have to eat a burger without a bun. 

Conclusion

Chili’s is a well-known and popular restaurant chain in the United States. If you suffer from gluten sensitivity and love eating at Chili’s, you’re probably wondering whether they offer gluten-friendly meals. 

Chili’s doesn’t make any claims about being gluten-free, but it’s relatively easy to order a gluten-free meal from their gluten-friendly menu. Unfortunately, the restaurant’s most popular starter, Chili chips, aren’t gluten-friendly and aren’t recommended to people with celiac disease or mild or severe gluten sensitivity.

Although chips aren’t an option, there are many other tasty, gluten-free dishes you can try while dining at Chili’s next time. From salads to stakes to grilled meat, it’s easy to eat gluten-free at Chili.

Related Articles:

Save for later!

Leave a Comment