Chips are universally loved party snacks because of their delicious saltiness and crunch. While most chips are gluten-free, it’s not always easy to tell which chips are made using gluten-free ingredients. If you follow a gluten-free diet, you’re probably wondering what chips are gluten-free.
The most popular brands of gluten-free potato chips are Cape Cod, Kettle Brand, Terra, and Garden of Eatin’. The best gluten-free corn tortilla chips brands are Late July, Food Should Taste Good, and Frito-Lay. Way Better and Eatsmart Naturals are some brands that offer multi-grain gluten-free chips.
Keep reading to discover more gluten-free chip brands. In this article, we’ll also share tips to help you make sure your chips are gluten-free.
Are there Gluten-Free Chips?
Most chips are free of gluten ingredients. However, that doesn’t mean that all chips are gluten-free.
Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye, and derivates of these grains.
Most chips are made from just a few ingredients, like potatoes, salt, vegetable oil, and in some cases, seasoning. According to the FDA, all these ingredients are naturally gluten-free and safe to eat if you have celiac disease or other gluten-related disorders.
Although many chips are gluten-free, recipes vary depending on the flavors and added seasonings. Some chips are made of wheat starch or malt vinegar, which contain gluten.
Checking the package for a gluten-free label and reading the ingredient list are the best ways to identify gluten-free chips.
15 Gluten-Free Brands of Chips
Many chip brands use gluten-free grains or other naturally gluten-free plants to make chips.
Nevertheless, if you’re following a gluten-free diet for health reasons, ensure that you buy a certified gluten-free product. Choosing certified-gluten free chips to lower the risk of cross-contamination, which can be an issue when gluten-free chips are produced in the same facility as gluten-containing foods.
If you’re in the mood for a bag of chips, choose one of the following gluten-free chips brands:
1. Cape Cod
Cape Cod is a subsidiary of Snyder’s-Lance with headquarters at Cape Cod. This company offers a variety of chip flavors, and all of its potato chips are gluten-free.
Cape Cod chips are marked as “gluten-free,” meaning they meet the FDA’s standards for gluten-free labeling of fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten.
2. Food Should Taste Good
All chips made by Food Should Taste Good brand are certified gluten-free. The Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO) has stricter gluten-free standards than FDA. It certifies only products that contain less than 10 parts per million of gluten.
Besides gluten-free potato chips, the Food Should Taste Good brand also produces gluten-free tortilla chips and gluten-free multi-grain chips.
3. Eatsmart Naturals
Eatsmart Naturals uses vegetables to create tasty, crunchy, and flavorful snacks. The Eatsmart Naturals Veggie Crisps are certified gluten-free and safe for people following a gluten-free diet.
This brand uses non-GMO ingredients to make delicious snacks, and all its products are now being made in a peanut-free facility.
Frito-Lay is a big company and a subsidiary of several gluten-free chip brands. Ruffles and Lay’s are two popular potato chip brands that meet the gluten-free standards set by the FDA. This means that Ruffles and Lay’s gluten-free potato chips contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten.
Doritos, Fritos, Tostitos, and Santitas are the brands that produce gluten-free tortilla chips.
5. Kettle Brand
The Kettle Brand produces popular potato-based chips that are available in various flavors. All Kettle Brand potato chips are certified gluten-free by the GFCO and are processed in a gluten-free environment.
Kettle’s gluten-free potato chips come in regular-sized bags and snack-sized bags.
6. Garden of Eatin’
A subsidiary of Hain Celestial Group, Garden of Eatin’ labels some of its products as gluten-free. This means that labeled Garden of Eatin’s chips meets the minimum FDA standard of 20 parts per million of gluten.
There’s a big chance this brand’s gluten-free chips are produced in the same facility as gluten-containing products. When buying Garden of Eatin’ chips, look for the gluten-free label and check the ingredient list to ensure there are no gluten-containing ingredients.
7. One Potato Two Potato
One Potato Two Potato chips are available in several gluten-free flavors, including BBQ Potato Chips and Jalapeno Lime Veggie Pulp Chips. This company produces chips in a zero-waste facility, lowering its carbon footprint and protecting the environment.
Terra chips are made from real vegetables and are labeled gluten-free. Terra’s chips meet the gluten-free guidelines established by the FDA and contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten.
Terra chips are available in several tasty flavors, including sweet potato chips, regular potato chips, and a wide range of vegetable chips (including beets, blue potato, parsnip, taro, and yucca).
9. Late July Organic
Late July Organic offers a variety of gluten-free potato chips and gluten-free tortilla corn chips. All chips made by this company are certified gluten-free by the GFCO, meaning they contain less than 10 parts per million of gluten.
The restaurant-style tortilla chips come in several flavors, including Sea Salt & Lime, Jalapeno & Lime, Organic Sea Salt, Chia & Quinoa, and Organic Blue Corn.
10. Way Better
Way Better produces several multi-grain gluten-free chips options, including black bean, multi-grain, and sweet potato. All chips made by the Way Better brand are certified gluten-free by GFCO, meaning they contain less than 10 parts per million of gluten.
Like many other multi-grain gluten-free chips, the Way Better chips aren’t always available in stores but can be ordered online.
Lundberg produces gluten-friendly rice cakes and several different flavors of gluten-free rice chips. This brand currently offers four flavors of rice chips, including Sea Salt, Fiesta Lime, Santa Fe Barbecue, and Sesame Seaweed Rice Chips.
All of these chips are made from organic brown rice, rice flour, and organic corn. Some flavors include dairy ingredients, so check the ingredient list if you follow a lactose-free diet.
Utz is an American brand that produces a variety of flavorful gluten-free chips. This brand also has gluten-free tortilla chips in several different flavors, including Brazilian Lime, Blue Corn, and Sea Salt tortilla chips.
13. Siete Family Foods
This family-owned brand produces grain-free and gluten-free corn tortilla chips and potato chips. Siete gluten-free tortilla chips are made from just a few gluten-free ingredients and come in several flavors.
Instead of frying, POPchips pops its chips to turn ingredients into tastier and healthier potato chips. All POPchips products are certified gluten-free and are safe for people with gluten-related disorders and celiac disease.
Popchips produces various chips flavors like barbecue, sea salt, Cajun honey, chili cheese corn chips, crazy hot potato chips, and perfectly salted corn chips.
15. The Good Crisp Company
The Good Crisp Company produces gluten-free potato chips in a variety of flavors. Besides being gluten-free, these chips are made without the top allergens and artificial flavors.
These tasty chips are available in Original, BBQ, Sour Cream & Onion, Aged White Cheder, and Salt and Vinegar flavors.
How To Make Sure Your Chips Are Gluten-Free?
There are several ways you can ensure your chips are gluten-free:
1. Look for Gluten-Free Labels on Packaging
The FDA standards state that a food product must contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten to be considered gluten-free. Such low amounts of gluten shouldn’t trigger an adverse reaction in people suffering from gluten-related disorders, but individual tolerances may vary from person to person.
This is why many manufacturers get third-party gluten certifications for their products to ensure their products meet or exceed FDA standards.
Gluten-free certificates are especially important for people who must avoid gluten for medical reasons. To ensure the product is safe to eat, look for a gluten-free label on the packaging.
2. Avoid Gluten-Containing Ingredients
Many chips aren’t labeled gluten-free, so it’s a good idea to know which ingredients may contain gluten. Chips with gluten may contain wheat, barley, rye, or a derivate of these ingredients.
For example, wheat flour is often found in pita chips and some brands of tortilla chips. Whole grain chips may also have gluten-containing ingredients or certain flavorings like malt vinegar which contain gluten.
People following a gluten-free diet must ensure their snacks don’t contain any gluten. Chips are a popular snack, mostly made from gluten-free ingredients like potatoes, corn, or vegetables.
There are many different brands of gluten-free chips, but some may contain problematic ingredients like malt vinegar or wheat starch. That’s why it’s important to read the ingredient list and look for a gluten-free label on the packaging.
If you don’t have celiac disease or a gluten-related disorder, you don’t necessarily need to look for certified gluten-free chips. But if you’re sensitive to gluten, stick to corn-based tortilla chips, potato chips, or vegetable chips.