Are Rolos Gluten-Free? – Healthy Tips 2024

Save for later!

Rolos are bite-size candies loved by children and adults of all ages. These creamy caramels are packaged into a roll, which is why they ended up being called “Rolos.” If you’re celiac with a sweet tooth, you’re probably wondering if you can enjoy this chocolate candy safely. 

So, is Rolos gluten-free? Yes, Rolos are gluten-free. Rolos are made from safe ingredients that don’t contain wheat, barley, oats, or rye. However, Rolos are made in a shared facility with products that contain wheat. Keep in mind that Rolo Minis have gluten and aren’t suitable for people following a gluten-free diet. 

This article will tell you everything you need to know about Rolos, including who makes this candy. We’ll also tell you if Rolos are vegan and dairy-free to help you decide whether or not to incorporate this rich chocolate candy into your diet. 

What Are Rolos?

Rolos are bite-sized candies with a caramel center covered in milk chocolate. Rolos candies have a circular bottom and are stacked one on top of the other in a roll. This is how this candy got its name, “Rolo.”

This sweet chocolate candy is extremely popular and sold almost everywhere. Look for Rolos at local grocery stores, vending machines, movie theatres, and gas stations. 

Children and adults of all ages enjoy the rich chocolaty flavor of Rolos candy. In fact, Rolos are among the most common candies that get handed out to children during Halloween. 

Who Makes Rolos?

The Hershey Company manufactures Rolos candies. Commonly known as Hershey’s, the Hershey Company is one of the largest chocolate manufacturers in the world.

This American multinational company also makes baked goods, including cookies and cakes, and sells milkshakes and other beverages, as well as many other products. The company’s headquarters are in Hershey, Pennsylvania.

The first Rolo candies were produced in England by Mackintosh, which later became Rowntree-Mackintosh. These candies were a simple combination of caramel and a chocolate coating. In 1937, Rolos were launched in the United Kingdom.

The Hershey Company acquired a license to manufacture Rolos in the United States in 1969. 

What Are the Ingredients in Rolos?

The Hershey Company is committed to creating products that meet the nutritional needs of its customers. The best way to determine whether any of Hershey’s products contain gluten is to check the ingredient label. 

The ingredient label includes an accurate and current list of the ingredients used to make a particular product. Because the ingredients in products can change from time to time, the Hershey Company encourages its customers to check the ingredient label on all gluten-free products before making a purchase. 

The following ingredients are used to make Rolo candy:

  1. Milk chocolate (sugar, non-fat milk, cocoa butter, chocolate, milk fat, lactose, lectin, PGPR [emulsifier], vanillin [artificial flavor])
  2. Sugar
  3. Corn syrup
  4. High fructose corn syrup
  5. Hydrogenated vegetable oil (palm kernel oil, soybean oil)
  6. Non-fat milk
  7. Contains 2% or less of:
  • Palm kernel oil
  • Salt
  • Baking soda
  • Vanillin (artificial flavor)

One pack of Rolo candy contains:

  • Calories: 220
  • Total Fat: 10g
  • Cholesterol: <5mg
  • Sodium: 75mg
  • Total Carbohydrate: 33g
  • Total Sugars: 30g
  • Protein: 2g
  • Vitamin D: 11.3iu
  • Calcium: 68.7mg
  • Iron: 0.6mg
  • Potassium: 115mg

Is Rolos Gluten-Free?

Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate are gluten-free. This gluten-free candy doesn’t contain wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, or other gluten-containing grains. 

However, Rolo candies are made in the same facility as other products that contain wheat. This means that there’s an increased risk of cross-contamination. If you’re celiac or have severe gluten sensitivity, you might experience side effects after eating Rolos.

You know your body and the level of sensitivity to gluten the best, so it’s up to you to decide whether you can safely enjoy Rolos once in a while or if it’s best to avoid them altogether. 

In addition to an increased risk of cross-contamination, Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate contain several of the most common food allergens. These candies contain milk and soy and are manufactured in the same facility as products that contain peanuts, tree nuts, almonds, sulfites, and the color yellow #5. 

Avoid eating Rolos if you’re allergic to any of these ingredients.

It’s worth mentioning that Rolo Minis aren’t a gluten-free candy. If you check the ingredient label, you’ll notice that Rolo Minis have a declaration that states these candies may contain wheat. 

Is Rolos Dairy-Free?

Unfortunately, Rolos aren’t dairy-free. This gluten-free candy is covered in rich chocolate that is made from non-fat milk. 

Therefore, Rolos aren’t a good choice for lactose intolerant people or those following a dairy-free diet. If you’re avoiding milk, it’s best to look for another type of gluten-free candy that will suit your dietary choices. 

Is Rolos Vegan?

Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate candies aren’t vegan. Rolos contain milk, an animal product, which makes them unsuitable for people following a plant-based diet. 

While Rolos are unsuitable for ethical and dietary vegans, you can enjoy many other delicious candies while sticking to your vegan lifestyle. 


Made by the Hershey Company, Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate are enjoyed by people of all ages. If you’re a fan of Rolos but have recently been diagnosed with gluten sensitivity, you’re probably wondering whether you can enjoy your favorite candy safely.

Rolos are made without gluten-containing ingredients and are technically gluten-free. However, these candies are manufactured in the same facility as products that contain wheat, which increases the risk of cross-contact.

If you have celiac disease or severe gluten intolerance, it is up to you to decide whether or not to eat Rolo Caramels in Milk Chocolate. When in doubt, consult your doctor to see if Rolos can be included in your gluten-free diet as a part of your treatment rotation. 

Related Articles:

Save for later!

Leave a Comment