Are Eclipse Mints Gluten-Free? – Healthy Tips 2024

Save for later!

Eclipse is a popular brand of chewing gum and breath mints. Eclipse mints come in several different flavors and promise to give their users powerful fresh breath.

If you’re a celiac and a fan of Eclipse gum and mints, you’re probably wondering if these products are safe to consume on a gluten-free diet. 

So, are Eclipse mints gluten-free? Yes, Eclipse mints are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Eclipse mints peppermint, spearmint, winter frost, and strawberry are oat, wheat, rye, and barley gluten-free. These gluten-free mints are conveniently packaged in tins and are sugar-free. 

This article will tell you everything you need to know about Eclipse mints and the ingredients used to make them. Keep reading to learn how to determine if a breath mint is gluten-free or not. 

What Are Eclipse Mints?

Eclipse is a brand of chewing gum and breath mint. First introduced in 2003, Eclipse mints are a sugar-free, smooth mint that promises to leave you with a fresh breath.

Eclipse mints come in a shape of an oval prism with rounded tops and bottoms. The top and bottom halves of the mint vary in color, depending on the flavor. The most popular Eclipse mint flavors are Spearmint, Peppermint, and Winterfrost. 

Eclipse mints are classified as breath mints, but it’s unclear whether they possess antibacterial properties. 

These mints are packaged in a recyclable steel box that has a metal hinge on the top. The top of the box can be pushed back and opened on the hinge to gain quick access to the breath mints. 

Each Eclipse mint pack weighs around 1.2 oz and contains about 50 individual mints. 

Since its introduction to the market in 2003, Wrigley’s Eclipse mints have undergone several reformations. Some flavors have been discontinued in many countries. 

The taste of the mints also changes depending on whether the mints were produced in the USA, China, or some other country. 

What Are the Ingredients in Eclipse Mints?

Wrigley’s Eclipse mints are sugar-free and gluten-free, meaning they are made without gluten-containing ingredients. Ingredients used to make Eclipse mints include sorbitol, magnesium stearate, natural and artificial flavors, acesulfame K, sucralose, lactic acid, calcium lactate, and color. 

Regardless of the mint’s flavor, sorbitol is always listed as the first ingredient. Sorbitol, a type of sugar alcohol with a sweet taste, is slowly metabolized by the human body. 

This ingredient is present in many commercial products and is used to preserve moisture, sweetness, and texture. Unlike table sugar, sorbitol doesn’t contribute to the formation of cavities and potentially supports oral health. 

Depending on the mint’s flavor, sorbitol is followed by magnesium stearate or natural and artificial flavors. Magnesium stearate is a commonly used food additive that acts as a binder, emulsifier, and thickener, as well as a lubricant, anticaking, release, and anti-foaming agent. 

This ingredient is present in many supplements, candy, and chewing gum. Magnesium stearate has a laxative effect when consumed in large amounts. 

Eclipse mints also include acesulfame K, an artificial sweetener that is 200 times sweeter than table sugar. However, acesulfame K, also known as Ace-K, is carcinogenic and risky to pregnant women. 

If you’re trying to avoid products with controversial ingredients, like acesulfame K, it’s best to steer clear of Eclipse mints. 

When it comes to nutritional value, peppermint-flavored Eclipse mints contain:

  • Calories: 5 per serving
  • Total Fat: 0g
  • Sodium: 0g
  • Total Carbohydrate: 2g
  • Sugars: 0g
  • Sugar Alcohol: 2g
  • Protein: 0g

How to Determine if a Mint Is Gluten-Free?

The best way to determine whether a mint is gluten-free is to check the ingredient label. First, look for the most obvious gluten-containing ingredients, like wheat, rye, barley, brewer’s yeast, malt, and oats.

If the mint manufacturer claims its product is gluten-free on the package, then the mints are most likely safe for people on a gluten-free diet. FDA only allows foods with less than 20 ppm of gluten to be labeled gluten-free.

Nevertheless, you should still check the ingredient list. Don’t forget that the label “wheat-free” doesn’t guarantee that the product is gluten-free. 

If there’s no gluten-free label, inspect the ingredients list carefully. Look for hidden or questionable ingredients that may contain gluten. 

Another thing you can do is check the allergen information. Some mints have a list of common allergens found in the product. The top major allergens include wheat, soy, eggs, milk, and tree nuts. 

An allergen label can be a quick way to rule out wheat as a gluten-containing ingredient. However, barley and rye also contain gluten but aren’t among the eight major allergens required by the FDA to be listed. 

Are Eclipse Mints Vegan?

Yes, Eclipse mints are vegan and suitable for people following a plant-based diet. No animal products or animal-derived ingredients, like milk, are used to make Eclipse mints.  

Keep in mind that Eclipse mints contain magnesium stearate, which is a controversial ingredient for some vegans. The issue with magnesium stearate is that it can be animal, or plant-derived. Unfortunately, there’s no way of knowing which one it is just from reading the label. 

Non-vegan mints usually contain gelatin, beeswax, carmine, shellac, eggs, or milk. Look for another brand of mints if you see any of these ingredients listed on the ingredient label.


Eclipse is a well-known brand of gluten-free mints. Eclipse mints promise a powerful fresh breath and come in several flavors, including Peppermint, Spearmint, and Winterfrost. Fruit-flavored Eclipse mints like Strawberry, Grape, and Tangy Orange mints are available in certain countries. 

Although Eclipse mints don’t contain gluten, they are made with some questionable ingredients, like acesulfame K and magnesium stearate. Acesulfame K is linked with several health concerns, including hormone disruption, thyroid damage, cancer, and risks to pregnant women. 

If you’re taking a proactive approach to additives and questionable ingredients, it might be best to avoid products with acesulfame K, including Eclipse mints. 

Related Articles:

Save for later!

Leave a Comment