Are Yogi Teas Gluten-Free? Healthy Tips 2023

Save for later!

are yogi teas gluten free

If you’re on a gluten-free diet, you know how hard it is to find gluten-free products that you can safely eat and drink. Whether you’re down with a really nasty cold or just in the mood for a cup of tea, you might wonder are Yogi teas gluten-free.

Yes, Yogi teas are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Yogi tea confirmed that its tea bag material and packaging contain no added gluten. Certain Yogi teas, including Healthy Fasting tea, Calming tea, Stomach Ease tea, and Kava Stress Relief tea used to contain gluten. 

This article will tell you everything you need to know about Yogi teas. Keep reading to learn what Yogi tea is and what ingredients are used to make this tea.

What Is Yogi Tea?

Yogi tea is an American tea brand that produces organic herbal, black, and green tea blends. The company is privately owned and operated in North America and also has headquarters in Germany. 

Yogi teas offer delicious teas inspired by Ayurveda, an ancient holistic healing philosophy that recommends a holistic approach to wellness. The company’s original tea blend was based on Ayurveda medicine and consisted of cinnamon, cardamom, ginger, cloves, and black pepper. 

Over the past three decades, this company expanded its offerings. It has over 40 tea blends from 140 exotic spices and botanicals sourced worldwide. 

What Are the Ingredients in Yogi Tea?

Yogi teas are made using 140 exotic spices and botanicals that have been carefully selected with flavor and purpose in mind. The following ingredients are used to make Yogi teas:

  • Açai berry
  • Acerola fruit extract
  • Alfalfa leaf
  • Amla fruit
  • Amla fruit extract
  • Apple cider vinegar extract
  • Ascorbic acid
  • Ashwagandha
  • Asian ginseng root
  • Assam black tea
  • Astragalus
  • Bacopa extract
  • Belleric Myrobalan fruit
  • Bergamot oil
  • Bilberry leaf
  • Black pepper
  • Black tea leaf
  • Blackberry
  • Blackberry flavor
  • Blackberry leaf
  • Blueberry
  • Burdock root
  • California poppy
  • Cardamom
  • Carob pod
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Chamomile flower
  • Chebulic Myrobalan fruit
  • Chinese Skullcap root
  • Chrysanthemum flower
  • Cinnamon bark
  • Cinnamon bark oil
  • Citric acid
  • Clove bud
  • Cocoa shells
  • Coptis root
  • Coriander seed
  • Dandelion root
  • Decaffeinated green tea leaf
  • Dried kombucha
  • Echinacea purpurea
  • Echinacea purpurea extract
  • Echinacea root
  • Elderberry extract
  • Elecampane root
  • Eleuthero root
  • Essential oils
  • Eucalyptus leaf
  • Fennel seed
  • Forsythia fruit
  • Garcinia Cambogia fruit
  • Gardenia fruit
  • Ginger root
  • Ginseng and eleuthero root extract
  • Gotu Kola
  • Grapeseed extract
  • Green tea leaf
  • Green tea leaf extract
  • Guayusa leaf
  • Hawthorn berry
  • Hibiscus flower
  • Honeybush
  • Indian sarsaparilla root
  • Jasmine green tea leaf
  • Juniper berry extract
  • Kava root
  • L-Theanine Suntheanine
  • Lavender flower
  • Lemon balm leaf
  • Lemon peel
  • Lemongrass
  • Licorice root
  • Mango
  • Matcha green tea
  • Monk fruit extract
  • Mullein leaf
  • Natural and organic flavors
  • Nutmeg
  • Oolong tea leaf
  • Orange peel
  • Oregano leaf
  • Parsley leaf
  • Passionflower extract
  • Peach
  • Peppermint leaf
  • Pu-erh tea leaf 
  • Pumpkin
  • Raspberry
  • Raspberry leaf
  • Red clover
  • Reishi mushroom extract 
  • Rhubarb root
  • Roasted chicory root
  • Roasted chicory root extract 
  • Rooibos leaf
  • Rosehip
  • Rose petal
  • Sage
  • Shatavari root
  • Skullcap root
  • Slippery elm bark
  • Spearmint leaf
  • Stevia leaf
  • Thyme leaf
  • Toasted brown rice
  • Tulsi leaf
  • Turmeric root
  • Valerian root
  • Valerian root extract
  • Vanilla bean
  • Vanilla flavors
  • Wild cherry bark
  • Yarrow flower
  • Yellow dock root
  • Yerba maté

What Types of Yogi Teas Are Gluten-Free?

types of yogi teas

All teas made by Yogi tea are considered gluten-free. In addition to being gluten-free, Yogi tea is also a vegan product suitable for people following a plant-based diet.

Although all Yogi teas are currently made without gluten, some of the company’s recipes contained barley malt, which has gluten. The following four Yogi teas were made using barley malt: Healthy Fasting, Calming, Kava Stress Relief, and Stomach Ease.

Nowadays, Yogi tea offers more than 40 gluten-free teas suitable for people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Is Yogi Chamomile Tea Gluten-Free?

Yes, Yogi Comforting Chamomile Tea is gluten-free and vegan. Yogi Chamomile Tea is a floral and aromatic herbal tea made with organic chamomile flowers. 

This gluten-free tea contains 16 individually packaged tea bags. Yogi Comforting Chamomile Tea is caffeine-free, vegan, kosher, and doesn’t contain artificial flavors or sweeteners

Is Yogi Licorice Tea Gluten-Free?

Yes, Yogi Egyptian Licorice Mint Caffeine-Free Tea is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. This particular tea is gluten-free, vegan, kosher, and caffeine-free doesn’t contain artificial flavors or sweeteners, and is packaged in individual tea bags. 

Yogi Egyptian Licorice Mint Tea is warming and naturally spicy sweet. This tea blend is made from organic peppermint leaf, organic licorice root, organic cinnamon bark, organic cardamom pod, organic ginger root, organic stevia leaf, organic clove bud, organic black pepper, organic cinnamon bark oil, organic cardamom seed oil, and organic ginger root oil.

Is Yogi Vanilla Spice Tea Gluten-Free?

Yes, Yogi Vanilla Spice Perfect Energy Tea is gluten-free. This herbal tea contains caffeine to energize and improve focus. 

In addition to being gluten-free, this herbal tea blend is dairy-free, kosher, and free of all common allergens, artificial colors, and sweeteners. Yogi Vanilla Spice Perfect Energy Tea is made from a blend of organic herbal ingredients, including green tea leaf, cinnamon bark, Assam black tea leaf, rooibos leaf, vanilla flavors, ginger root, licorice root, green tea leaf extract, stevia leaf, Gotu Kola leaf extract, shank Shatavari root, ashwagandha root, Shatavari root, L-Theanine Suntheanine, and vanilla bean.

Conclusion

Traditional plain tea is gluten-free. However, not all tea blends are safe for people on a gluten-free diet. Some herbal teas contain barley malt as a sweetener, so always check the ingredient label before you take a sip of tea.

If you’re a fan of Yogi teas, the good news is that all of this company’s tea blends are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Although Yogi tea used to make gluten-containing teas, that’s no longer the case. All Yogi tea products are free of gluten. 

Related Articles:

Save for later!

Leave a Comment