Qdoba Mexican Eats is a well-known fast-casual restaurant chain that serves Mexican-style food. Although Qdoba doesn’t have a dedicated gluten-free menu, it offers an array of gluten-friendly options to people following a gluten-free diet.
But are Qdoba chips gluten-free? Qdoba corn tortilla chips are naturally gluten-free. However, Qdoba Mexican Eats isn’t a gluten-free fast-food restaurant, and there is always a risk of cross-contamination. Crispy corn tortilla chips may contain gluten because they are prepared in the same fryer as gluten-containing foods.
Keep reading to learn more about gluten-free menu options at Qdoba Mexican Eats restaurant.
What Is Qdoba Mexican Eats Restaurant?
Formerly known as Qdoba Mexican Grill, Qdoba Mexican Eats is a popular chain of fast-casual dining restaurants in the United States.
Qdoba offers burritos made in San Francisco burrito style and an array of other foods, including tacos, chile con queso, quesadillas, and Mexican gumbo. This Mexican-style restaurant fits into a fast-casual dining category because it offers both quick service and better quality food than a typical fast-food restaurant.
Qdoba has a great selection of fresh, ready-to-order foods and allows its customers to customize their meals. Customers order by choosing an entrée and then selecting other ingredients. The great thing about this casual dining restaurant is that all meals are prepared in front of the customer.
To set itself apart from the competition, Qdoba Mexican Eats restaurants serve breakfast. Furthermore, some locations are open 24 hours on weekends. Qdoba’s main rivals are Chipotle Mexican Grill, Baja Fresh, and Moe’s Southwest Grill.
What Are the Ingredients in Qdoba Chips?
Qdoba corn tortilla chips are made from corn, salt, vegetable oil, and water. Although corn tortilla chips are naturally gluten-free, they can become cross-contaminated during the cooking process.
Qdoba Mexican Eats has an extensive allergen information guide for its customers. Since this isn’t a certified gluten-free restaurant, foods prepared at Qdoba may contain or come into contact with eggs, dairy, soy, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts, fish, and shellfish.
Qdoba corn tortilla chips are cooked in a shared fryer, used to prepare gluten-containing foods, and may contain gluten.
These corn tortillas are safe for people trying to avoid or limit gluten in their diets. However, people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity shouldn’t eat corn tortilla chips made at Qdoba.
Other Gluten-Free Qdoba Menu Items
Qdoba doesn’t have a dedicated gluten-free menu but offers a selection of gluten-free options. When ordering gluten-free at Qdoba, always choose corn shells instead of wheat flour tortillas, which contain gluten.
Here are all the gluten-free options to order at Qdoba Mexican Eats restaurant:
The following Qdoba bowls don’t contain gluten and are safe for people on a gluten-free diet.
- Chicken Protein Bowl
- Impossible Fajita Bowl
- Chicken Queso Bowl
When it comes to meats, Qdoba offers the following gluten-free menu items:
- Ground Beef
- Grilled Chicken Adobo
- Pulled Pork
- Grilled Steak
- Smoked Brisket
Beans and Rice
Here’s what types of beans and rice are safe to order at Qdoba if you’re following a gluten-free diet:
- Black beans
- Brown rice, seasoned
- Cilantro lime rice
- Pinto beans
Qdoba Mexican Eats has an array of gluten-free salsas on its menu, including:
- Habanero salsa
- Mango salsa
- Pico de Galo
- Queso Diablo
- Chile corn salsa
- Salsa Roja
- Salsa verde
Tortillas and Chips
Qdoba offers the following gluten-free corn tortillas and chips. Keep in mind that these items may come into contact with gluten while being cooked in a shared fryer.
- Corn tortilla chips
- Crispy corn tortilla strips
- Crispy taco shell
- Corn tortilla 5.5”
There is an array of gluten-friendly toppings at Qdoba Mexican Eats restaurant that you can choose to add more flavor to your gluten-free meal.
- Cheese, Cotija
- Cheese, shredded
- Fajita vegetables
- Picante ranch dressing
- Mexican Caesar dressing
- 3-Cheese queso
- Sour cream
All bottled and fountain beverages at Qdoba are gluten-free and safe to consume if you’re on a gluten-free diet. Here’s everything you can order to drink with your meal:
- Dasani water
- Diet Coke
- Honest Tea Organic Peach
- Honest Tea Honey Green Tea
- Honest Tea Half and Half
- Vitamin Water Power C
- Vitamin Water XXX
- Vitamin Water Zero Squeezed
- White milk low-fat 1%
- Chocolate milk low-fat 1%
- Simply Orange Juice
- Minute Maid Kid’s Apple Juice Box
- Barq’s Root Beer
- Caffeine-Free Diet Coke
- Cherry Coca-Cola
- Coca-Cola Zero
- Diet Coke
- Fanta Orange
- Fuze Raspberry Tea
- Hi-C Flashin Fruit Punch
- Mello Yello
- Minute Maid Lemonade (HFCS)
- Minute Maid Light Lemonade
- Powerade Mountain Berry Blast
- Gold Peak Classic Blend Tea
Are Qdoba Chips Gluten-Free?
Qdoba tortilla chips are naturally gluten-free but may come into contact with gluten. This Mexican-style restaurant prepares tortilla chips in a shared fryer which is also used for cooking gluten-containing ingredients.
Qdoba’s corn tortilla chips may only contain trace amounts of gluten. However, even the slightest amount of this allergen can cause an adverse reaction in persons with celiac disease or severe gluten intolerance.
Are Qdoba Chips Dairy-Free?
Yes, Qdoba chips are dairy-free and suitable for lactose-intolerant people or those following a plant-based diet.
Are Qdoba Chips Vegan?
Qdoba tortilla chips aren’t made or prepared using animal products and are entirely vegan. Whether you’re following a plant-based diet for dietary or ethical reasons, you can safely order tortilla chips the next time you decide to dine at Qdoba Mexican Eats restaurant.
Qdoba is a popular Mexican-style restaurant that offers an array of gluten-friendly options to its customers. While this casual fast-food restaurant doesn’t have a dedicated gluten-free menu, they have more gluten-free options than other Mexican-style restaurants.
Qdoba’s tortilla chips are naturally gluten-free but may become cross-contaminated during the preparation process. The chips may come into contact with gluten through a shared fryer, meaning they aren’t safe for people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.