The beginning of the Girl Scout Cookie season is soon upon us. Girl Scouts offer a variety of delicious cookies, and for the past few years, they started selling gluten-free cookie options. If you’re trying to avoid gluten in your diet, you’ll be happy to learn you can do so and, at the same time, help raise money to keep the Girl Scouts running.
So, what Girl Scout cookies are gluten-free? At this time, there are two gluten-free Girl Scout cookies – the Caramel Chocolate Chip and the Toffee-tastic. The gluten-free Caramel Chocolate Chip cookie is made with oat flour, brown sugar, and semi-sweet chocolate. The Toffee-tastic cookie is made with rice flour and tapioca starch.
Keep reading to learn more about these two Girl Scouts gluten-free cookies. In this article, we’ll tell you what these cookies are made from so you know what to expect when you buy a few boxes of cookies.
What Is Gluten in Girl Scout Cookies?
Girl Scouts offer a variety of tasty cookies. Out of 13 currently available cookies, 11 Girl Scout cookies contain gluten.
All of these cookies are made using wheat flour, which contains gluten. As a result, most Girl Scout cookies are unsafe for people with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.
While most Girl Scout cookies contain gluten, the organization offers two gluten-free cookies to people trying to avoid gluten. At this time, the gluten-free community can choose between the Caramel Chocolate Chip cookie and the Toffee-tastic cookie.
Hopefully, Girl Scouts will start selling more gluten-free cookies in the near future.
What Are Gluten-Free Girl Scout Cookies made of?
Girl Scout cookies are manufactured by two licensed bakeries – ABC Bakers and Little Brownie Bakers. Both gluten-free cookies are sold in select Girl Scout markets as long as supplies last.
Contact your local Girl Scout council to learn which Girl Scout cookies are sold in your area.
But before you head out to grab a box of cookies, let’s see what new gluten-free Girl Scout cookies are made of.
Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookie
The Caramel Chocolate Chip cookie features caramel, semi-sweet chocolate chips, and a hint of salt. This yummy gluten-free cookie is naturally flavored with other natural ingredients.
The ingredients used to make gluten-free Girl Scout Caramel Chocolate Chip cookies are:
- Oat flour
- Brown sugar
- Semi-sweet chocolate chip (sugar, unsweetened chocolate, cocoa butter, sunflower lecithin, natural flavor)
- Canola oil
- Tapioca starch
- Coconut oil
- Invert sugar
- Egg replacer
- Natural flavor
- Sea salt
- Leavening (baking soda, monocalcium phosphate)
- Xanthan gum
- Cream of tartar
- Sunflower lecithin
The ingredient list is extensive, but there’s no gluten in sight. This Girl Scout cookie is gluten-free and completely safe for people with gluten sensitivity and wheat allergies.
Girl Scout Toffee-tastic is a rich, buttery cookie with sweet and crunchy toffee bites. These gluten-free Girl Scout cookies are made by Little Brownie Bakers. If your local Girl Scout Council sells Tagalongs and Samoas, ask them about this delicious cookie.
The Toffee-tastic Girl Scout cookie is made using the following ingredients:
- Rice flour
- Tapioca starch
- Butter (cream, salt)
- Palm oil
- Brown rice flour
- Butter toffee bits (sugar, butter [cream, salt], corn syrup, soy lecithin, salt)
- Invert sugar
- Contains 2% or less salt
- Soy lecithin
- Xanthan gum
- Baking soda
The allergy information states that the Toffee-tastic cookies contain milk and soy ingredients. These cookies are also manufactured in a shared facility with peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, and eggs.
What Girl Scout Cookies don’t have Gluten?
At this time, Girl Scouts offer two gluten-free cookies, but they’ll likely include more gluten-free cookie options in the near future.
Let’s take a closer look at these two gluten-free cookies:
Girl Scout Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookie
The Caramel Chocolate Chip cookies were launched in 2019 and are still relatively new. These cookies feature a rich caramel flavor combined with semi-sweet chocolate chips and a hint of saltiness.
The Caramel Chocolate Chip cookies are made with gluten-free oat flour and have a dry, cakey texture with a slightly salty aftertaste. The caramel overpowers the taste of chocolate, but in combination with sea salt, creates a tasty cookie.
This cookie is certified-gluten free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization, meaning they have less than 10 ppm of gluten. A serving size of three Caramel Chocolate Chip cookies contains 160 calories, 7 grams of fat, 21 grams of carbs, and 3 grams of protein.
Girl Scout Toffee-tastic Cookie
The well-known and loved Toffee-tastic cookie was released in 2015. This cookie has a rich, buttery flavor with sweet and crunchy toffee bits.
These cookies have a very buttery and crumbly texture that sticks to the teeth thanks to bits of toffee. The Toffee-tastic cookie is certified gluten-free by National Sanitation Foundation, meaning they are tested to have less than 20 ppm of gluten.
A serving size of two Toffee-tastic cookies contains 140 calories, 7 grams of fat, 19 grams of carbs, and less than 1 gram of protein.
Do Gluten-Free Girl Scout Cookies Taste Different?
Gluten-free Girl Scout cookies taste just like regular cookies. The only real difference between Girl Scout gluten-free and gluten-containing cookies is in the type of flour used to make the cookies.
Gluten-free cookies are made with oat and rice flour, while gluten-containing cookies contain enriched wheat flour. The rest of the ingredients vary, according to the cookie recipe, but usually include sugar, milk, eggs, coconut oil, and peanut butter.
Girl Scout cookies are available in a variety of flavors. If you’re trying to avoid gluten and have a sweet tooth, you’ll be happy to learn that Girl Scouts offers two kinds of gluten-free cookies.
The savory Caramel Chocolate Chip cookie has a dry and cakey texture, a rich caramel flavor, and a slightly salty aftertaste. The Toffee-tastic cookie has a light, buttery and crumbly texture that sticks to the teeth because of the toffee. Both cookies are certified gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.