Are PEZ Vegan? – Healthy Tips 2023

Save for later!

are pez vegan

PEZ is a well-known and popular candy that comes in many delicious flavors. PEZ candies are suitable for children and adults alike, but what about vegans – can they eat PEZ?

So, are PEZ vegan? PEZ candy is made from plant-based ingredients which are suitable for dietary vegans. However, PEZ contains several controversial ingredients, including sugar, palm oil, natural and artificial flavors, and artificial colors. Each of these ingredients is problematic for ethical vegans. 

Keep reading to discover whether there’s room for PEZ candy in your vegan lifestyle. In this article, you’ll find a list of different PEZ products and learn if PEZ is healthy.

Are all PEZ Vegan?

PEZ candies don’t contain any animal or dairy products and are suitable for dietary vegans. But, these popular candies contain several questionable ingredients that make PEZ unsuitable for ethical vegans.

PEZ candies contain sugar, natural and artificial flavors, palm oil, and artificial colors. All of these ingredients are controversial in the vegan community.

Sugar, for example, is a disputable ingredient because bone char from dead cows is used in the production process. The sugar industry frequently uses bone char as a decolorizing filter to obtain sugar’s desired white color. 

Palm oil is another highly controversial ingredient for vegans and millions of other people worldwide. The palm oil industry causes severe deforestation that harms the environment and forces wildlife to flee its natural habitat. 

Natural and artificial flavors are blanket terms used to cover a variety of ingredients rather than a single specific ingredient. Because sources of these ingredients aren’t disclosed on a label, it’s hard for vegans to determine if the ingredient is vegan or not. 

With that being said, PEZ candies don’t contain any ingredients sourced from animals and are suitable for dietary vegans. However, the use of sugar, palm oil, and other questionable ingredients makes PEZ unsuitable for ethical vegans who reject the commodification of animals.

Different PEZ products

different pez products

PEZ candies are lactose-free, dairy-free, gluten-free, and suitable for children over the age of three and adults. These popular candies are available in a variety of yummy flavors.

Here are the most popular PEZ candy flavors:

PEZ Candy Mystery Flavor

PEZ Candy Mystery Flavor is one of the most popular PEZ candies. As its name suggests, the actual flavor is a mystery until you consume the candy.

PEZ Candy Mystery Flavor is made from the following ingredients: sugar, corn syrup, adipic acid, hydrogenated palm kernel & palm oils, mono & diglycerides, and natural & artificial flavors. 

PEZ Chocolate Candy

Chocolate Candy PEZ is less-known and consumed than its fruity counterparts but is no less flavorful. These candies have a rich chocolaty flavor and are ideal for everyone looking to try something other than fruit-flavored PEZ candies.

PEZ Chocolate Candy is made from sugar, corn syrup, hydrogenated palm kernel & palm oils, mono & diglycerides, artificial flavor, and caramel color. 

PEZ Candy Assorted Fruit

These PEZ candies are available in several fruity flavors, including cherry, strawberry, grape, orange, lemon, and raspberry. The Assorted Fruit Candy is the most popular and loved PEZ candy by people of all ages.

When it comes to ingredients, these candies contain sugar, corn syrup, adipic acid, hydrogenated palm kernel & palm oils, mono & diglycerides, natural & artificial flavors, and artificial colors FD&C red 3, yellow 5, yellow 6, and blue 2. 

PEZ Vanilla Cupcake and Sugar Cookie

The Vanilla Cupcake and Sugar Cookie PEZ Candy is an excellent choice for everyone looking for something other than fruit-flavored PEZ refills. These tasty candies are made from sugar, corn syrup, adipic acid, hydrogenated palm kernel & palm oils, mono & diglycerides, and natural & artificial flavors.

PEZ Cotton Candy, Candy Corn, and Banana 

Cotton Candy, Banana, and Candy Corn are relatively new PEZ flavors that have become an instant hit among people of all ages. Ingredients in these candies are sugar, corn syrup, adipic acid, hydrogenated palm kernel & palm oils, mono & diglycerides, natural & artificial flavors, and artificial colors FD&C red 3, yellow 5, and yellow 6.

PEZ Coca-Cola Candy

All Coca-Cola fans can now enjoy the flavor of their favorite drink while eating PEZ candies. These candies taste exactly like Coca-Cola and are made from sugar, corn syrup, adipic acid, sodium bicarbonate, hydrogenated palm kernel & palm oils, mono & diglycerides, artificial flavors, and caramel color. 

PEZ Sour Candy (Blue Raspberry, Watermelon, Pineapple, Green Apple) 

Sour Candy is among the most popular PEZ candies and is available in several flavors, including green apple, pineapple, blue raspberry, and watermelon. Ingredients include sugar, corn syrup, citric acid, malic acid, tartaric acid, hydrogenated cottonseed, hydrogenated palm kernel & palm oils, mono & diglycerides, natural & artificial flavors, artificial colors FD&C yellow 5, blue 1, red 40, and green 3. 

PEZ Dragon Fruit

Dragon Fruit is the newest PEZ candy flavor that is peanut, tree nut, and gluten-free. This yummy candy is made from sugar, corn syrup, adipic acid, hydrogenated palm kernel & palm oils, mono & diglycerides, and natural & artificial flavors. 

Is PEZ Healthy?

PEZ isn’t a particularly healthy candy. All PEZ candies are highly processed and contain several controversial ingredients, including artificial colors and flavors, glycerides, corn syrup, and hydrogenated oils. 

One roll of PEZ candies (around 9 grams) has 35 calories, 9 grams of carbohydrates, and 9 grams of sugar. Although these candies don’t have fat or sodium, they are loaded with sugar which contributes to weight gain, obesity, and other health problems. 

Conclusion

PEZ candy brand is famous for dispensers that hold tiny PEZ candies and manufactures a variety of fruit-flavored candies. PEZ candies are available worldwide and come in several tasty flavors.

These candies are made without dairy and animal products, which makes them suitable for dietary vegans. However, PEZ candies contain several debatable ingredients, like sugar and palm oil, which make these candies unsuitable for ethical vegans.

Related Articles:

Save for later!

Leave a Comment