What Is Gluten-Free at McDonald’s? – Healthy Tips 2024

Save for later!

McDonald’s is an iconic fast-food restaurant chain best known for its French fries, hamburgers, cheeseburgers, Mc nuggets, and sandwiches. Having celiac disease or gluten intolerance makes eating out at most fast-food restaurants a challenge. But if McDonald’s is your favorite fast-food joint, you’re probably wondering if they have a gluten-free menu.

So, what is gluten-free at McDonald’s? McDonald’s doesn’t certify any of its menu items as gluten-free. Some items on McDonald’s menu are made from gluten-free ingredients but are cooked in a shared kitchen, which increases the risk of cross-contamination. Check the ingredient information for individual items when dining at McDonald’s.

In this article, we’ll tell you more about McDonald’s and list all gluten-free items you can order at this popular fast-food chain. Keep reading to find out if McDonald’s French fries are gluten-free and safe for you to eat.

Does McDonald’s have Something Gluten-Free?

At this time, McDonald’s doesn’t offer any items that are certified gluten-free. This fast-food chain encourages its customers to check the nutritional and ingredient information for individual items on McDonald’s menu.

Some of McDonald’s menu items are made using gluten-free ingredients and are technically gluten-free. However, all food items at McDonald’s restaurants are prepared in shared cooking areas using the same equipment and utensils.

Because of this, gluten-free ingredients can come into contact with gluten-containing ingredients and become cross-contaminated during preparation and cooking.

Even a tiny amount of gluten can cause problems for persons with celiac disease and severe gluten allergies. If you’re that person, avoid ordering food at McDonald’s and look for a gluten-free fast-food restaurant. 

Items on McDonald’s Menu that are Gluten-Free

McDonald’s doesn’t offer a dedicated gluten-free menu or has any certified gluten-free options. However, some McDonald’s menu items are made using gluten-free ingredients and may be a suitable choice if you’re trying to limit the amount of gluten in your diet. 

Here are several gluten-free items to order at McDonald’s. Keep in mind that these menu items can be cross-contaminated and may contain trace amounts of gluten.

1. Burgers 

McDonald’s doesn’t offer gluten-free buns, but customers can order any McDonald’s burger without a bun. Instead of a bun, ask the staff for the lettuce wrap.

McDonald’s burgers are made of 100% beef meat that doesn’t contain fillers or extenders. If you decide to order a Big Mac, order it without Big Mac Sauce as it contains wheat gluten.

If you’re following a gluten-free diet, these are the burgers you can order at McDonald’s, minus the bun:

  • Big Mac
  • Quarter Pounder with Cheese
  • Double Quarter Pounder with Cheese
  • Quarter Pounder with Cheese Deluxe
  • McDouble
  • Quarter Pounder with Cheese Bacon
  • Cheeseburger
  • Double Cheeseburger
  • Hamburger 

2. Dipping Sauces

McDonald’s offers several types of dipping sauces that will add flavor to any menu item you order. People following a gluten-free diet can order the following sauces:

  • Spicy Buffalo Sauce
  • Creamy Ranch Sauce
  • Honey Mustard Sauce
  • Honey
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Mayonnaise

3. Breakfast

McDonald’s has an extensive breakfast menu. Although all breakfast items contain gluten, you can customize your breakfast and make it gluten-free by omitting an English muffin, griddle cake, or biscuit. 

Here’s what to order for a gluten-free breakfast:

  • Bacon, Egg & Cheese Biscuit without a biscuit
  • Egg McMuffin without an English muffin
  • Sausage McMuffin without an English muffin
  • Sausage McMuffin with Egg without an English muffin
  • Sausage Biscuit without a biscuit
  • Sausage Biscuit with Egg without a biscuit 
  • Bacon, Egg & Cheese McGriddles without griddle cakes
  • Sausage McGriddles without griddle cakes
  • Sausage, Egg & Cheese McGriddles without griddle cakes
  • Big Breakfast without hash browns and a biscuit
  • Fruit & Maple Oatmeal

4. Sweets & Treats

McDonald’s fast-food restaurant offers several gluten-free options to customers with a sweet tooth. The following menu items don’t contain gluten, but can still come into contact with gluten-containing ingredients in the shared kitchen.

  • McFlurry with M&M’s Candies
  • Chocolate Shake
  • Vanilla Shake
  • Strawberry Shake
  • Hot Fudge Sundae
  • Hot Caramel Sundae

5. Beverages

People following a gluten-free diet can order many different types of beverages at McDonald’s, including:

  • Coca-Cola
  • Sprite
  • Dr. Pepper
  • Fanta Orange
  • Diet Coke
  • Hi-C Orange Lavaburst
  • Frozen Fanta Blue Raspberry
  • Frozen Coca-Cola Classic
  • Strawberry Banana Smoothie
  • Mango Pineapple Smoothie
  • Sweet Tea
  • Unsweetened Tea
  • Hot Tea
  • Minute Maid Premium Orange Juice
  • Honest Kids Appley Ever After Organic Juice Drink
  • 1% Low Fat Milk Jug
  • Reduced Sugar Low Fat Chocolate Milk Jug
  • Hot Chocolate

Are Fries at McDonald’s Gluten-Free?

McDonald’s World-Famous Fries aren’t gluten-free. These fries are made with potatoes, hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor, dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate, and salt.

The natural beef flavor used to make McDonald’s fries contains wheat, which makes these fries unsuitable for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. 

McDonald’s fries are prepared in a dedicated frier, so there’s no risk of cross-contamination. Unfortunately for all celiacs, these fries contain gluten.

Is there Gluten in McDonald’s Burger?

McDonald’s burgers are gluten-free if ordered without a bun. All of these burgers are made from 100% beef meat that doesn’t contain any fillers or extenders. 

Whether you have celiac disease or are trying to avoid gluten, McDonald’s cheeseburgers, hamburgers, Quarter Pounders, and Big Macs are safe to order without buns.


McDonald’s is the most popular fast-food restaurant, that serves millions of people every day. Unfortunately, McDonald’s isn’t the best place to be if you’re trying to eat gluten-free.

McDonald’s doesn’t have a dedicated gluten-free menu and none of the items served are certified gluten-free. Although some menu items are made using gluten-free ingredients, they are cooked in the same kitchen as gluten-containing ingredients, which increases the risk of cross-contamination.

Ingesting even a trace amount of gluten can be problematic for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity. To prevent getting glutened, look for restaurants with dedicated gluten-free menus.

Related Articles:

Save for later!

Leave a Comment